streaming services 2021 thread? (fk spotify)

hello all, i did a little search but didn’t see a recent thread on this. me and some friends had been gaming the spotify family plan pricing, but that plan is falling apart (‘head of household’ is switching to apple music). so i’m left wondering should i switch to another service. i’m also generally pissed at spotify exercising monopoly power while paying artists in exposure, and the joe rogan transphobia something something.

thoughts i am thinking:

• spotify’s music discovery algorithm pretty much sucks and their big playlists suck. just pushes already popular stuff ime.
  • spotify often doesn’t have indie artists and lesser known stuff i would like to see. i would like to use a platform that’s better for artists, and easy to use as an artist myself. (e.g. uploading music, creating playlists for public consumption)
  • use cases: i use spotify via iOS app, waze integration (driving), bluetooth speakers round the house, roku, and web player (at my computer) pretty often. playing in background is important (why can’t normal youtube do this)
  • i listen to podcasts in the shower sometimes
  • i’m on youtube constantly pretty much and already use it to send ppl music
  • i would like to have high quality audio (v0/320 ish if possible)
  • i have a bunch of historical playlists on spotify (e.g. “spring/summer 2019”) that i would want to recreate

i’m looking at options:

• just reupping to spotify - but see title
  • youtube music - i think this one has way more indie artists and is generally good on music selection. how’s the quality and convenience?
  • apple music - idk anything about apple music but if it’s anything like app store i bet it’s a walled garden type approach, which is wack imo
  • other (tidal??)

so uh, what’s yalls experience with spotify/streaming alternatives? or if you’ve seen any good comparisons/analysis lmk

1 Like

uh uh uh