life after unity

i’ve been making games w unity for like 8 years now (christ) and i’ve been moving further away from the engine every year (i’m kinda shackled to it until i finish my big project (and also cos i teach it to my students) but that’s beside the point) mostly in a godot-ward direction, and while i like that engine quite a bit i do find its management practices a little :eyes: so i thought i’d do the honest thing and try a shitload of different engines to see what’s going on, and to write about it to those that might care; i know the gamesfromscratch guy is out there but i don’t find his write-ups or videos very informative so i figured it might be worth sharing my thoughts with others who are in a similar position but don’t have the time or energy to do this.

to be perfectly clear: i’m not planning on approaching this strenuously; if there’s some weird quirk of an engine that i find annoying enough to warrant putting it down then i simply will.

i spent a bit yesterday writing up a list of stuff i personally want from my tools (in order of importance):

MUST HAVE:

• must be an engine, not a framework.
  • c# or some other strict language with thorough documentation.
  • comprehensive 2D and 3D support.
  • lightweight (editor and build).
  • modding support (editor and build).

NICE TO HAVE:

• built-in level editing / modelling tools.
  • baked lighting tools.
  • visual shader editor.
  • console support.

my current targets are (in order):
flax, defold, wicked, heaps, bevy, and fyrox. and then, if i’m feeling really keen/unfulfilled, i’ll have a look at idtech4 and maybe some other old/abandoned engines like that. i kinda doubt i’ll end up choosing that route but i’m interested nonetheless cos i like the idea of using tools that aren’t moving under my feet.

anyway if anyone else is doing similar stuff or has experience with any of the above (or other stuff that feels relevant) whether positive or negative i’d love to know about it.