FUCK YEAH DRAGON QUEST (Part 2)

Continuing the discussion from FUCK YEAH DRAGON QUEST (Part 1) - #2038 by sleepysmiles.

Previous discussions:

FUCK YEAH DRAGON QUEST II: DOPE LUMINARIES OF THE FUCKEN AWESOME LINE

4 Likes

I started playing DQ11 Every Extend Extra Edition and this new feature where NPCs randomly lie to you like in Simon’s Quest is so good, it should be in every game

23 Likes

i like that they’re all really perturbed by their own lies like “did I say that?? huh that was weird of me. Anyway”

i think these are the first attempts at Dragon Quest Localization Puns, earlier even than the priest in 4 who says “don’t litter in the litter” and everyone groans at his bullshit

8 Likes

Any opinions about the new Dragon Quest Monsters on the Switch?

3 Likes

i was going to play it tonight but i appear to have downloaded the korean version by mistake

4 Likes

i’m playing but very slow so far, not enough along to really say much yet

hard not to notice the general production value gap compared to dqxi, but of course that’s not really fair considering dqxi is absolutely decadent, and so far i find it almost charming that you can so clearly see the line between things it couldn’t give a shit about (how it feels to walk around, sparse house interiors, vaguely surreal way you fast travel between areas with no real connective tissue) and things it’s obsessed with (how the monsters look, baroque spreadsheeting of monster stats/abilities/points/lineages/etc). but again, early on!

i do want to online battle anyone else who plays though… i played one tournament thing and got paired up against 30 consecutive late game japanese teams and just got dumpstered over and over, seems like they could have handled that a little differently…

6 Likes