Catching Up with PS4

I’ve been saving up for a PS4 for a few months so that I can play Dark Souls 3 when it comes out. I almost never buy games new at full price, but I don’t think I will be able to resist this one (and I get 20% off through Amazon).

Here are some disappointing things that I’ve learned about the PS4:

• I will have to subscribe to PS Plus to play Dark Souls 3 online. I guess that was inevitable.
  • There’s no support for PS1/PS2 “Classics,” so those are confined to the PS3.
  • There is no backwards-compatibility, not even for PS1 discs, but Sony claims that they will support PS2 games at some point in response to Microsoft adding support for older games to their console. But there’s no word on what form this will take.
  • You can’t play M4V files natively the way you can on a PS3, but you can play MKV files. Unfortunately, I have backed up a lot of my DVDs to M4V format. I’m sure that PS3 Media Server will still be an option, at least.
  • I’m too late to get the PT demo.

Here are some games that I have my eye on:

• Bloodborne, though I hope it doesn’t require more skill than I have as a slow, methodical Souls player who is no good at beating some of the tougher bosses.
  • Resogun, since I am a fan of Super Stardust. And I guess there is some special edition of Super Stardust as well.
  • SOMA, which I already played through on PC but may buy a second time at some point because I really liked it and would like to see it with better graphics. (My computer’s video card required me to use the lowest settings.)
  • Alien: Isolation, which I never got around to trying on PS3.
  • The Last Guardian, which was actually the reason I bought a PS3 a few years ago.
  • Rez Infinite, since I still play PS2 Rez periodically and have always wished I could try that fancy XBOX version.

I wish there were a PS4 “bundle” with a game that I care about, since it appears to be more expensive to get a PS4 without a pack-in game.

Any other PS4-related advice?