What Happened to Chiptune? (The Podcast)

hi everyone I’ve been working on this for the last few months and finally put out my first (or rather zeroth) episode today here:

https://whathappenedtochiptune.org

i’ll post in here when new episodes drop! i’m pretty excited about this project so i hope you enjoy listening thank you

19 Likes

oh hell yes

this seems really cool! i have no experience with the chiptune scene even though i was adjacent to it from being on oc remix back in the day. if anything, i actively avoided the whole space partially bc i was trying to be a cool indie kid and didn’t like the overly gamer sensibility of these communities and partially just because i didn’t like the limited sound palette. but that’s partially why i’m really curious to hear about this now, bc i had no sense of where things are. it feels like a lot of cultural moments that started to flourish in the late 00’s have hit their ending point now, and it’s hard to know what (if anything) replaces them.

hope you can get maktone on an episode, that guy’s stuff was the soundtrack to my early to mid teens.

thanks all! i’m really excited to start releasing episodes - it’s one of the things that just felt like a good idea as soon as i had it and the people involved so far seem to be excited about the concept and the framing so that’s been really encouraging, it’s kind of the most momentum i’ve had on a project in a really long time

and if anyone here wants to talk about chiptune and their experiences please reach out! i’m not trying to make this a scene-only thing, i’d very much appreciate talking to people who weren’t so involved because that’s an important perspective as well

2 Likes

nice monologue, enjoyed it and looking forward to more

i have a total outsider perspective on chiptune. it was always sort of aspirational in that i loved videogame music and was always chasing sounds made by my favorite games and composers, but chiptune was not something i really encountered.