FPGA World Tour

3 Likes

I’m missing this significance, hasn’t NeoGeo emulation been sorted for nearly 20 years at this point?

fpga

3 Likes

MiSTer is the free open-source alternative to e.g. Analogue’s FPGA offerings (Nt mini, Super Nt, Mega Sg)

it’s very exciting

7 Likes

The coolest thing about FPGA gaming hardware from my POV is that it will keep fully authentic speedrunning (same latency, same glitches) alive even after enough of the originals croak to make buying one inaccessibly expensive.

3 Likes

I don’t believe anyone knows what fpga means and it is a buzz word for people that watch gamer youtube to yell about.

I’m an engineer and I do FPGA adjacent work every day.

I still barely know what they are. Not that I can’t educate myself on them. I just flash new software on them and make sure they make my devices work.

1 Like

field programmable gate array

does what it says on the box

3 Likes

Fake Professional Golfers’ Association

11 Likes

It’s “French people go away.”

Not cool!

5 Likes

Aren’t FPGAs just programmable microchips? So you can program and burn code into them at home instead of having to get a custom chip made for whatever you’re trying to do. I guess they’re better than software emulation because you aren’t translating instruction through an operating system, you’re just straight up recreating how the original hardware worked?

Programming and wiring microcontrollers was the most fun I had at college. That’s FPGA adjacent I guess.

2 Likes

fpga emulation is not inherently better than pure software it’s just another method but also it is cool

1 Like